To Tea or Not To Tea!!

In 2014 I moved to Doha, Qatar to gain additional skills in my profession. Being an instrumentation technician/designer for 16 years I figured it was time to “spark up” the career and become an instructor. This was a difficult decision considering I didn’t like attending school or public speaking. But I figured it was time to stand-up and fight my fears.

Within a few months of “fumbling around”, I attended a few courses. E.g.; Instructional Skills Workshop, Technical and Further Education, Develop a Curriculum etc. These courses helped me build confidence as both an instructor and student. The more experience and training I received the better I improved.

After I completed my first year of teaching, I decided it was time to advance my own skills in education. So I enrolled myself into the Provincial Instructor’s Diploma Program (PIDP) at Vancouver Community College. This was a huge step for me to take as it wasn’t my “cup of tea”. I was excited and scared at the same time. So far it has truly been an amazing experience. I learned many new strategies, theories, skills, and tools that helped me gain success in the classroom.

I’m not sure where I will go, or what I will do in the future.  My plan is to complete my contract here at CNA-Q and wait for the next opportunity to arise. This could be another contract with the college or somewhere else, doing something different. But I do know that I will continue improving my hard and soft skills, by challenging myself to learn something new every day.

Leave a Reply

