Who me?

Hello everyone. I go by the name(s) of Mike, Michael, Mr., Dad, Daddy, Ralph, and Sir. Feel free to call me any of these names….. but most people call me Mike.

Here’s a little information about myself.

I worked in Alberta and British Columbia as an Instrumentation Technician/ Designer in the oil and gas industry for the past 15 years. In August 2014, I moved to Doha, Qatar to instruct Process operations and Instrumentation.

Being here in the Middle East is a great opportunity for my family and me, to learn and interact with many cultures. So far this new journey has been very fulfilling. It’s kind of cool to take part of helping the State reach their 2030 vision of Qatarization. Since moving to Qatar, we have traveled to many places. UAE, Italy and Ireland, London, Germany, Netherlands, Belgium and Luxembourg. I plan to visit Turkey in March and likely Thailand in April.

I enrolled in PIDP in September 2015, to further my education in the academic world. I felt that I needed more qualifications to make myself more valuable rather than being a “trade’s guy”.  I’m hoping that PIDP-3260-Professional Practice, will help me both in and out of classroom. This semester I started a new position as a curriculum developer, designing a new program for our trades department. This job includes interaction with staff, students, clients, management and industry leaders. Over the next couple of months, I plan to use what I learned from the course, and adapt these new skills when communicating with others.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

