4 stages of self-directed learning.

I teach instrumentation and process at a collage in Doha, Qatar. One of the competency units that my students complete is called “Plan a routine job”. This project has three steps.

  1. Plan
  2. repair
  3. Write a report

When my student go through the process  of planning and repairing a piece of equipment, they take full ownership of their learning and outcomes. At the end of the task, they  have to reflect on the experience by creating a report. This technique shows my students how to become self-directed learners.

As an instructor I only provide them guidance along the way. I become a mentor not an information provider. It is my job keep them on track.

After going through these steps, its Sad so say that most (not all) of my students are level 1 learners. They rely on the me on a consistent basis. With the right skills and simple adjustments, I believe these students can easily reach a level two or three.

In the course I’m currently taking (provincial instructor diploma program) I have to manage and participate in an online discussion forum with other students. This discussion forum consists of many topics with multiple conversations. If done properly, this assignment truly reflects a self-directed learner.  Up to this point I feel that i’m a constantly reflecting the traits of level 3 learner.Which I’m quite happy to admit!

The next time you’re learning something new, take a look at this chart to determine if you are a stage 1-2-3-4 self-directed learner.

Thoughts?

 

Leave a Reply

